Checking your Facebook news feed can be a demanding task, especially if you receive notifications from friends, groups and pages almost every second! If you ever wanted to take a break from those ‘talkative’ ones, you are in for good news.
Last week Facebook introduced a ‘snooze’ feature that lets you temporarily unfollow a person, page or group for 30 days.
Thanks to the ‘snooze’ feature, you can take a temporary break from posts without unfriending, unfollowing or shutting them forever.
“By selecting ‘Snooze’ in the top-right drop-down menu of a post, you won’t see content from those people, Pages or groups in your News Feed for that time period,” Shruthi Muraleedharan, product manager at Facebook, wrote in a blog post late on Friday.
“We’ve heard from people that they want more options to determine what they see in News Feed and when they see it. With ‘Snooze’, you don’t have to unfollow or unfriend permanently, rather just stop seeing someone’s posts for a short period of time,” she added.
“The people, Pages, and groups you snooze will not be notified. You will be notified before the ‘Snooze’ period is about to end and the setting can also be reversed at any time,” the post read.
This new feature joins the list of other additions by Facebook, such as Unfollow, Hide, Report and See First, which help people customise their news experience to suit their privacy.
“As News Feed evolves, we’ll continue to provide easy-to-use tools to give you the most personalised experience possible every time you visit Facebook,” the post said.